Warsaw Euro-Atlantic Summer Academy (WEASA) is an educational program for the up-and-coming policy analysts, experts, adtvisers, civil servants, private sector/NGO professionals and journalists from the Eastern Partnership region (i.e. Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine).

WEASA was founded to present the political, social and economic foundations of modern democracies in the European Union and the transatlantic community and further promote the values of freedom, pluralism and peace.

WEASA goes in line with the Eastern Partnership initiative that aims at accelerating political association, deepening economic integration, enhancing mobility of citizens and strengthening sector cooperation between the European Union and the Eastern Europe.


WEASA is founded in partnership by the

  • The College of Europe, Natolin Campus
  • The German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF)
  • The Polish American Freedom Foundation


The WEASA programme is delivered by prominent academics and analysts from the leading European and American think tanks as well as the high-level officials and practitioners.

In previous 3 years we have had among our speakers:

Leszek Balcerowicz

Mathew Bryza

Edward Chow

Clifford Gaddy

Andreas Goldthau

Douglas Hengel

Rey Koslowski

Hrant Kostanyan

Sabina Lange

Artur Lorkowski

Shushanik Makaryan

Janusz Onyszkiewicz

Adam Stulberg

Emmet Tuohy

Frank Umbach

Gunter Verheugen

Gert Weisskirchen

And many others.


WEASA is open for citizens and permanent residents of 6 Eastern partnership countries:  Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

This year’s edition is also open to citizens and permanent residents from the following Western Balkan countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Kosovo.

In 2015 WEASA participants represented the following sectors: academia 20 participants; think-tanks – 4; NGO – 5; media -1; business – 1; public administration 14. They came came from all the 6 Eastern Partnership countries: Armenia 5 participants, Azerbaijan – 6, Belarus, 3, Georgia – 9, Moldova – 7 and Ukraine – 15.


WEASA 2017 will take place on July 2-15.


WEASA is hosted by the Natolin Campus of the College of Europe (Warsaw, Poland).


All WEASA sessions will be held in English.


The Founders cover all travel expences and provide the boarding and lodging for all WEASA participants.